Israel Adesanya voted ‘Fighter of the Year’ at the twelfth World MMA Awards

Israel Adesanya voted 'Fighter of the Year' at the twelfth World MMA Awards

The wait is over as the winners for the prestigious 12th World MMA Awards have been introduced, with Israel Adesanya taking home the Male Fighter of the Year.

The awards, which are produced by fighters only, had an extended voting period due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The voting interval lasted from January 2019 to July 2020. The awards ceremony took place remotely on December 27, 2020.

Israel Adesanya, Amanda Nunes, and Jorge Masvidal pick up major awards

UFC middleweight champion Israel Adesanya was named the Male Fighter of the Year, while two-division women’s champion Amanda Nunes was named the Female Fighter of the Year. Apart from Israel Adesanya and Amanda Nunes, Jorge Masvidal was named the Breakthrough Fighter of the Year for his performances against Darren Until and Ben Askren in 2019.

During the voting interval, Israel Adesanya tore by way of all the middleweight division. It began with the battle in opposition to his idol, Anderson Silva. After dispatching Silva, Adesanya earned himself the interim title by rising victorious in a back and forth conflict against Kelvin Gastelum.

Then came the big moment. The Final Stylebender knocked out former champion Robert Whittaker in a title unification bout that headlined UFC 243. In his first title protection, Israel Adesanya took on and defeated Yoel Romero. Adesanya is undefeated to date and has two successful title defenses below his belt.

Check out the list of all the winners below:

‘Charles Mask Lewis’ Fighter of the Year: Israel Adesanya

Female Fighter of the Year: Amanda Nunes

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year: Jorge Masvidal

International Fighter of the Year: Israel Adesanya

Fight of the Year: Weili Zhang vs. Joanna Jedrzejczyk – UFC 248

Knockout of the Year: Jorge Masvidal vs. Ben Askren – UFC 239

Submission of the Year: Demian Maia vs. Ben Askren – UFC on ESPN+ 20

The comeback of the Year: Stipe Miocic vs. Daniel Cormier – UFC 241

Upset of the Year: Alexander Volkanovski vs. Max Holloway – UFC 245

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year: Trevor Wittman

Coach of the Year: Phil Daru

Gym of the Year: American Top Team

The referee of the Year: Herb Dean

Ring card Girl of the Year: Brittney Palmer

Leading Man: Dana White

Best Promotion: UFC

The personality of the Year: Joe Rogan

Analyst of the Year: Daniel Cormier

Best MMA Programming: Joe Rogan Expertise

Media Souce of the Year: ESPN

Journalist of the Year: Ariel Helwani

Fighting Spirt of the Year Award: Dustin Poirier for Good Fight Foundation

Read also-Top 5 UFC events of the year 2020 details